central banks

Duterte appoints 2 Monetary Board members

President Rodrigo Duterte appoints MB member Bruce Tolentino for a fresh 6-year term, and seasoned banker Anita Linda Aquino also as a full-time private sector representative to the board

The Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) on Tuesday, July 28, announced the appointment of two members of the Monetary Board (MB).

The BSP said in a statement that President Rodrigo Duterte appointed MB member Bruce J. Tolentino for a fresh 6-year term, and seasoned banker Anita Linda R. Aquino. Both are full-time private sector representatives to the MB, the highest policy making-body of the BSP.

 “The BSP welcomes their appointment and looks forward to their contribution in the fulfillment of the BSP mandates,” the BSP said in a statement.

Tolentino first joined the MB in June 2018, to serve the remaining term of MB member Valentin A. Araneta who died in February of that year.

Before he joined the MB in 2018, Tolentino was the deputy director general of the International Rice Research Institute. He was also chief economist and country representative at The Asia Foundation, senior technical adviser at the Agriculture and Natural Resources of the Catholic Relief Services, and senior economic policy adviser at the Asian Development Bank.

Aquino, who had served as Department of Finance chief of staff, was a Philippine Deposit Insurance Corporation (PDIC) board member representing the private sector. She also represented PDIC as board adviser to the United Coconut Planters Bank.

Aquino also previously held key positions at Standard Chartered Bank Manila, Rizal Commercial Banking Corporation, Citicorp Investment Bank in Singapore, and Citibank NA Manila. – Rappler.com