Nora Aunor wins 8th MMFF Best Actress award for ‘Thy Womb’
Mendoza also bagged the Best Director award for the movie

Photo from Thy Womb's official Facebook page

MANILA, Philippines (Updated) – Nora Aunor received her 8th Metro Manila Film Festival Best Actress award Thursday, December 27, for her role in Brillante Mendoza’s “Thy Womb.” 

Mendoza also bagged the Best Director award for the movie while the Best Actor trophy went to Dingdong Dantes for “One More Try.”

Here’s the complete set of winners in the 38th Metro Manila Film Festival Awards Night held at the Meralco Theater:

Major Awards

Best Picture: “One More Try”

2nd Best Picture: “El Presidente”

3rd Best Picture: “Sisterakas”

Best Actress: Nora Aunor

Best Actor: Dingdong Dantes

Best Director: Brillante Mendoza (“Thy Womb”)

Best Screenplay: “One More Try”

Best Original Story: “Thy Womb”

Best Supporting Actress: Wilma Doesnt (“Sisterakas”)

Best Supporting Actor: Cesar Montano (“El Presidente”)

Best Editing: Vito Kahili (“One More Try”)

Best Cinematography: “Thy Womb”

Best Production Design: “Thy Womb”

Best Visual Effects: “Shake, Rattle, and Roll 14: The Invasion”

Best Make-up: “El Presidente” noypistuff

Best Theme Song: Apl De Ap and Jamir Garcia of Slapshock (“El Presidente”)

Best Musical Score: Jessie Lasaten (“El Presidente”)

Best Sound Engineer: Albert Idioma (“El Presidente”)

Best Child Actor: Miguel Vergara (“One More Try”)

FPJ Memorial Award: “One More Try”

Most Gender-Sensitive Film Award: “Thy Womb”

Youth Choice Award: “El Presidente”

Best Float: “El Presidente


New Wave Category

Best Full-length Feature: “The Grave Bandits”

Most Gender-Sensitive Film Award: “In Nomine Matris”

Best Director: Tyrone Ancierto (“The Great Bandits”)

Best Actress: Liza Dino (“In Nomine Matris”)

Best Actor: Allan Paule for (“Gayak”)

Special Jury Prize: Quantum Films


Student Short Films Category

Best Short Film: “Pukpok” (DLSU)

Most Gender Sensitive Film Award: “Manibela” (FEU)

Special Jury Prize: Daniel Bautista of University of San Carlos


Special Awards

Male Star of the Night: Joseph Estrada

Female Star of the Night: Nora Aunor

Five Star Male Celebrity of the Night: Zanjoe Marudo

Five Star Female Celebrity of the Night: Bianca King



Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.