FULL LIST: Winners, MMFF 2019 awards night

FULL LIST: Winners, MMFF 2019 awards night

dion besa

'Mindanao' wins Best Picture

MANILA, Philippines – The Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) 2019 Gabi ng Parangal was held on Friday, December 27 at the New Frontier Theater in Araneta City.

Brillante Mendoza’s Mindanao won the top awards winning Best Picture, Best Actor for Allen Dizon, Best Actress for Judy Ann Santos, and Best Child Performer for Yuna Tangog.


Mindanao also won the two special MMFF awards – Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award and  Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award.

Write About Love was also a big winner, earning Best Suppoting Actress for Yeng Constantino and Best Supporting Actor for Joem Bascon.

The Gabi ng Parangal was hosted by Marco Gumabao and Bela Padilla.

The list:

  • Best Picture: Mindanao
  • 2nd Best Picture: Write About Love  
  • 3rd Best Picture: Sunod
  • Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award: Mindanao
  • Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award: Mindanao
  • Best Director: Brillante Mendoza, Mindanao
  • Best Actor in a Leading Role: Allen Dizon, Mindanao
  • Best Actress in a Leading Role: Judy Ann Santos, Mindanao 
  • Best Screenplay: Write About Love
  • Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Joem Bascon, Write About Love
  • Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Yeng Constantino, Write About Love
  • Best Child Performer: Yuna Tangog, Mindanao
  • Best Cinematography: Sunod
  • Best Sound: Mindanao  
  • Best Original Song: Write About Love “Ikaw Ang Akin”
  • Best Editing: Write About Love
  • Best Visual Effects: Mindanao 
  • Best Musical Score: Write About Love 
  • Best Production Design: Sunod
  • Best Float: Mindanao
  • Scratch It Star of the Night (Male): Aga Muhlach
  • Scratch It Star of the Night (Female): Carmina Villaroel 
  • Best student short film: Pamana ni Lola
  • Special Jury Prize short film: Bronze, Silver, Gold at Anting-Anting
  • Gender Sensitive Award: Mindanao
  • Special Jury Prize Ensemble award: Culion
  • Special Jury Prize award: Crisanto Aquino, Write About Love

Hall of Fame 

Best Actress: Nora Aunor, Amy Austria, Vilma Santos-Recto, Maricel Soriano

Best Actor: Anthony Alonzo, Cesar Montano, Christopher de Leon

Best Supporting Actress: Eugene Domingo, Cherie Gil

Best Director: Marilou Diaz-Abaya, Joel Lamangan, Jose Javier Reyes

Best Visual Effects: Roadrunner Network Inc.

Best Art Director: Rodel Cruz, Joey Luna

Best Cinematography: Rudy Lacap, Carlo Mendoza, Romy Vitug, Lee Meily

Best Sound Engineer: Ditoy Aguila, Michael Idioma, Rolly Ruta

Best Musical Score: Dionisio Buencamino, Von De Guzman, Jaime Fabregas, Jessie Lasaten

Best Editing: Vito Cajili, Manet Dayrit, Jess Navarro, Edgardo Vinarao

Best Screenplay: Roy Iglesias, Ricky Lee, Jose Javier Reyes

– Rappler.com

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.