WINNERS: Cinemalaya 2013 awards

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

MANILA, Philippines – Here is the list of winners in this year’s Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival held Sunday night, August 4, at the Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo (Main Theater) of the Cultural Center of the Philippines.


Audience Choice Award, New Breed Category: “Transit”

Audience Choice Award, Directors’ Showcase: “Ekstra” by Jeffrey Jeturian

Special citation for the sensitive topic of abortion: “Sa Wakas”



Best Screenplay – Paolo O’Hara, “The Houseband’s Wife”

Best Director – Jann Eric Tiglao, “Onang”

Best Film – “The Houseband’s Wife”

Special Jury Prize – “Taya” by Adi Bontuyan



Best Sound – Roger TJ Ladro, “Sana Dati”

Best Original Score – Jerrold Tarog, “Sana Dati”

Best Editing – Pats R. Ranyo, “Sana Dati”

Best Production Design – Ericson Navarro, “Sana Dati”

Best Cinematography – Mackie Galvez, “Sana Dati”

Best Screenplay – Zig Dulay, Antoinette Jadaone and Jeffrey Jeturian, “Ekstra”

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role – TJ Trinidad, “Sana Dati”

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role – Ruby Ruiz, “Ekstra”

Best Performance by a Lead Actor – NO AWARDEE

Best Performance by a Lead Actress – Vilma Santos, “Ekstra”

Special Jury Prize – “Ekstra”

Netpac (Network for Promotion of Asian Cinema) Special Award – “Ekstra”

Best Director – Jerrold Tarog, “Sana Dati”

Best Film – “Sana Dati”



Best Sound – Michael Idioma, “Quick Change”

Best Original Score – Mon Espia, “Transit”

Best Editing – Benjamin Tolentino and Hannah Espia, “Transit”

Best Production Design – Roy Red, “Rekorder”

Best Cinematography – Ber Cruz and Lyle Nemenzo Sacris, “Transit”

Best Screenplay – Eduardo Roy Jr., “Quick Change”

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role – Joey Paras, “Babagwa”

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role – Jasmine Curtis-Smith, “Transit”

Best Performance by a Lead Actor – Mimi Juareza, “Quick Change”

Best Performance by a Lead Actress – Irma Adlawan, “Transit”

Certificate of Recognition for Ensemble Acting – the cast of “Transit”

Special Jury Prize – “Quick Change”

Netpac Special Award – “Transit”

Best Film – “Transit”

Best Director – Hannah Espia, “Transit”

This year’s Cinemalaya opened on July 26 with Babyruth Villarama’s romantic documentary, “Jazz in Love.”

READ: Docu on love and migration opens Cinemalaya

The 10-day event had a festive closing with Joel Lamangan’s “Burgos: A Mother’s Love.” –

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!