Hollywood movies

WATCH: Maya Hawke stars in creepy ‘Fear Street’ trilogy

WATCH: Maya Hawke stars in creepy ‘Fear Street’ trilogy

Screenshot from trailer

Check out the trailer for Netflix's new horror film trilogy, based on the book series by R.L. Stine

Netflix released the official teaser of Fear Street, their upcoming horror film trilogy event based on the beloved book series by Goosebumps author R.L. Stine.

WATCH: Maya Hawke stars in creepy ‘Fear Street’ trilogy

Actress Maya Hawke, known for playing Robin Buckley in season three of Stranger Things, stars alongside fellow Stranger Things cast member Sadie Sink, who played Max Mayfield. Other people in the cast include Gillian Jacobs, Olivia Welch, Ted Sutherland, Kiana Madeira, among others.

The highly-anticipated horror trilogy directed by Leigh Janiack takes place in three different yet connected times. Set in 1994, it will follow a group of curious teenagers who slowly discover that the horrifying events that haunted their town Shadyside for years may all be connected, and that they might be the next targets.

The adaptation will unravel the history of their town and the mysterious presence that continues to terrorize them.

Installments of Fear Street will be released on Fridays, from July 2 to the 16th. The event will go through the years 1994, 1978, and 1666, respectively. It is also confirmed by Janiack that the spooky trilogy will be rated R, as the trilogy is geared towards older teenagers. – with reports from Angelica Burlaza/Rappler.com

Angelica Burlaza is a Rappler intern.