Vigan, Cebu, Iloilo among New7Wonders top picks

Carol RH Malasig

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

Iloilo, Cebu, and Vigan will compete against 74 other cities to be part of the New7Wonders Cities

FINALIST. Vigan, one of the Philippines' oldest cities makes it to the longlist of the New7Wonders foundation. Photo by Pia Ranada/Rappler

MANILA, Philippines – Three Philippine cities have made it to the 77-longlist of Swiss Foundation New7Wonders.

Vigan, Iloilo, and Cebu will be vying for a spot in the list of 7 cities that are considered to be New Wonders.

In an aim to create a “global memory”, New7Wonders Founder and President Bernard Weber announced the longlist of the New7WondersCities which contains 77 finalists — completing the qualification phase of the worldwide election.

“Global in its scope, this remarkable New7Wonders longlist reflects the energy and culture of the city at its best. United in their commonalties, and varied in their forms, cities remind us of the possibilities of civilization when, for the first time in history, more than half of the world’s population live in cities,” Weber said.

“My hope is that the New7Wonders Cities campaign will generate debate about the challenges cities face — national and international — and how they are responding to them.”

The qualifiers include:

  • Accra, Ghana
  • Asuncion, Paraguay
  • Athens, Greece
  • Auckland, New Zealand
  • Baghdad, Iraq
  • Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei
  • Bangkok, Thailand
  • Barcelona, Spain
  • Beirut, Lebanon
  • Bethlehem, Palestine
  • Bogota, Colombia
  • Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Cairo, Egypt
  • Casablanca, Morocco
  • Caracas, Venezuela
  • Cebu City, Philippines
  • Cuenca, Ecuador
  • Chicago, USA
  • Curitiba, Brazil
  • Cusco, Peru
  • Doha, Qatar
  • Dubai, UAE
  • Durban, South Africa
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • Ha Noi, Viet Nam
  • Havana, Cuba
  • Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam
  • Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Iloilo City, Philippines
  • Istanbul, Turkey
  • Jakarta, Indonesia
  • Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Kyoto, Japan
  • La Paz, Bolivia
  • Lagos, Nigeria
  • Las Vegas, USA
  • Lima, Peru
  • London, UK
  • Mendoza, Argentina
  • Mexico City, Mexico
  • Miami, USA
  • Montevideo, Uruguay
  • Montreal, Canada
  • Mumbai, India
  • Muscat, Oman
  • Naples, Italy
  • Nadi, Fiji
  • Nairobi, Kenya
  • New York, USA
  • Panama, Panama
  • Paris, France
  • Perth, Australia
  • Phnom Penh, Cambodia
  • Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
  • Prague, Czech Republic
  • Quito, Ecuador
  • Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Rome, Italy
  • St. Petersburg, Russia
  • San Jose, Costa Rica
  • San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Santiago, Chile
  • Seattle, USA
  • Seoul, South Korea
  • Shenzhen, China
  • Singapore, Singapore
  • Surakarta, Indonesia
  • Sydney, Australia
  • Tehran, Iran
  • Tokyo, Japan
  • Toronto, Canada
  • Valparaiso, Chile
  • Vancouver, Canada
  • Vientiane, Laos
  • Vigan, Philippines
  • Zurich, Switzerland

The global election started on March 7 last year. People all over the world voted for their choices among 300 cities to come up with the long list of 77. 

Come October 21, 28 official finalists will be announced and the voting for the New7Wonders Cities will proceed.

The Official list of New7Wonders Cities will be released on July 7, 2014. 

To vote for your favorite nominated city, click here.



Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!