Liberal Party bets dominate Cagayan de Oro polls

Stephen J. Pedroza
Liberal Party bets dominate Cagayan de Oro polls

Bobby Lagsa

Incumbent Cagayan de Oro mayor Oscar Moreno secures his seat with more than 97,000 votes

CAGAYAN DE ORO CITY, Philippines – Liberal Party candidates stood out in the Cagayan de Oro polls.

Incumbent Mayor Oscar Moreno (LP) secured his seat with 97,033 votes or 40.4% of the votes.

The 65-year-old re-electionist had a lead of 16,247 votes over his closest rival, former mayor Vicente Emano of the Padayon Pilipino (PP), who got 33.6% of the votes.

The outcome of the race reflected the second and final poll survey conducted by Xavier University’s Kinaadman Research Center (KRC).

For his second term, Moreno’s flagship 8-point platform dubbed “PRIMEHAT” includes:

  • Poverty alleviation, peace and order

  • Revenue generation

  • Infrastructure and investments

  • Metropolization

  • Education and environment protection

  • Health and hospital services

  • Agricultural productivity

  • Teamwork and tourism.

Moreno’s running mate, Rainier Joaquin Uy, also won the vice mayoral post with 93,360 votes or 42.5% of the votes. (READ: Who will sit on the throne of Cagayan de Oro City?)

LP’s Rolando Uy, father of Rainier, won the first disctrict congressional seat, leading with 5,886 votes over independent candidate Lourdes “Candy” Darimbang.

In CDO’s second district, independent candidate Maximo Rodriguez, younger brother of Rufus, won the congressional post with 40.1% of the total votes. His top opponents Ramon Tabor of the United Nationalist Alliance (UNA) and Edgar Cabanlas of the LP got 29.5% and  25.4% of the votes, respectively.

Meanwhile, for the city council race, LP got 6 seats; Padayon Pilipino/UNA alliance, 8; and CDP, 2.

District 1I:  

  • Zaldy Ocon (LP): 51,892
  • Lordan Suan (UNA): 49,430
  • Inday Dahino (UNA): 45,938
  • Jay Pascual (LP): 45,158
  • Gen Calizo (LP): 39,175
  • George Goking (LP): 37,311
  • Annie Daba (UNA): 34,797
  • Reuben Daba (LP): 32,836 

District 2:

  • Nadya Emano (PP): 53,721
  • Maria Lourdes Gaane (LP): 45,953
  • Jun Acenas (PP): 45,433
  • Ian Nacaya (PP): 44,700
  • Leon Gan Jr. (PP): 43,244
  • Bong Lao (CDP): 42,266
  • Suzette Magtajas-Daba (PP): 41,096
  • Eric Salcedo (CDP): 38,523

The proclamation of winners came after CDO completed the canvassing past 12 am on Thursday, May 12 at the City Hall.

Election woes and hopes

According to local National Citizens’ Movement for Free Elections (Namfrel) volunteers, the elections in CDO encountered minor technical glitches in the Vote Counting Machines (VCMs) and confusion over precinct assignments.

There were instances when the VCMs failed to read and accept the ballots. However, local Comelec technicians were able to address the problem by restarting the machines. Election officers also requested a new machine to read ballots and issue receipts to the voters when ballots were not accepted by the VCM after 4 attempts. (READ: #PHVoteWatch: Vote machine glitches mar election day)

“I’m happy that I was able to exercise my sacred right to vote,” Anita Lucagbo, a retired judge, said.

Lucagbo cast her vote at the City Central School, one of the biggest schools in CDO. She hopes that the results of the elections would be “good for our country”.

“I’ll accept the will of the people. Vox populi, the voice of the people is the voice of God,” she added.

‘Gateway to Northern Mindanao’

On Tuesday, May 10, the police and the military declared in a command conference that the elections in Cagayan de Oro and in the rest of Region 10 were “generally peaceful.” (READ: Police, military: Northern Mindanao elections generally peaceful)

In Northern Mindanao, at least 7 election-related incidents were recorded, including the murder of Armando Ceballos, an independent mayoral candidate in Lantapan, Bukidnon.

The Regional Joint Security Coordinating Center (RJSCC) will meet again on Friday, May 13, for the final assessment of the May 2016 local elections.

Besides being home to 305,321 registered voters for the May 2016 polls, the capital of Misamis Oriental serves as the central business hub of Region 10, the second most vote-rich region in Mindanao with 2.46 million registered voters.

With its territorial size of 56,966.8435 hectares, CDO is the second highest-ranking urban area in Mindanao, touted as the most important economic growth corridor on the northern coast of the second largest island in the archipelago. – reports by Alyssa Michelle Viado

Rappler’s Lead Mover in Cagayan de Oro City, Stephen Pedroza is a graduate of Development Journalism at Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan. He attended a course on new media in journalism at the Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana. Alyssa Michelle Viado is a Rappler intern based in Cagayan de Oro City, studying Development Communication at Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan.


Who is leading in the 2016 Philippine elections?

Follow the LIVE 2016 election results for the national and local races through the links below.

For live updates on the aftermath of the May 9 elections, check out our extensive 2016 Philippine elections coverage!

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.