LIST: Who’s who in the incoming Duterte Cabinet
LIST: Who’s who in the incoming Duterte Cabinet
(11th UPDATE) Here is a list of people president-elect Rodrigo Duterte plans to appoint to key positions in government

CABINET MEETING. Rodrigo Duterte meets his Cabinet appointees in PICC on June 15, 2016. Photos from RTVM

MANILA, Philippines (11th UPDATE) – Who are the men and women president-elect Rodrigo Duterte will count on to bring promised change to different areas in government?

On June 30, Duterte’s Cabinet appointees will also take their oath as government officials.

Here is a list of people who Duterte has identified as his future Cabinet secretaries in various press conferences or media interviews starting in May.

Social Welfare Secretary: Judy Taguiwalo

Executive Secretary: Salvador Medialdea
Cabinet Secretary: Leoncio “Jun” Evasco
Budget Secretary: Benjamin Diokno
Defense Secretary: Delfin Lorenzana
Interior Secretary: Mike Sueño
Foreign Secretary: Perfecto Yasay Jr
Justice Secretary: Vitaliano Aguirre II
Transportation and Communications Secretary: Arthur Tugade
Public Works and Highways Secretary: Mark Villar
Agriculture Secretary: Emmanuel “Manny” Piñol
Agrarian Reform Secretary: Rafael Mariano
Environment Secretary: Gina Lopez
Science and Technology Secretary: Fortunato Dela Peña
Energy Secretary: Alfonso Cusi
Education Secretary: Leonor Briones
Trade and Industry Secretary: Ramon Lopez
Tourism Secretary: Wanda Corazon Teo
Presidential Communications Operations Office: Martin Andanar
Presidential Spokesperson: Ernie Abella
Solicitor General: Jose Calida
Presidential Legal Counsel: Salvador Panelo
Special Assistant to the President with general supervision over Presidential Management Staff: Christopher “Bong” Go
Mindanao Peace Process Adviser: Jesus Dureza
Presidential Assistant for the Visayas: Michael Dino
National Economic Development Authority Chief: Ernesto Pernia
National Security Adviser: Hermogenes Esperon Jr.
Police Matters Undersecretary under DILG: Catalino Cuy
National Bureau of Investigation Chief: Dante Giran
Philippine Drug Enforcement Agency Chief: Isidro Lapeña
Bureau of Customs Chief: Nicanor Faeldon
Bureau of Immigration and Deportation Chief: Jaime Morente
Bureau of Internal Revenue: Cesar Dulay
National Intelligence Coordinating Agency Chief: Alex Monteagudo
Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board Chief: Martin Delgra
Land Transportation Office Chief: Edgar Navante
National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Chief: Ricardo Jalad
Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation Chief: Andrea Domingo


Also offered the position of either justice secretary or foreign secretary is Duterte’s defeated running mate, Senator Alan Peter Cayetano. However, he is banned from being appointed to an executive position for one year. Cayetano can choose which post he prefers after a year, Duterte said.

Duterte opened 4 departments to the Philippine Left – DOLE, DENR, DSWD, and DAR. But only DAR and DSWD were given to Left nominees. 

Heads for PNP, AFP, PSG

Duterte has also named his top picks for the Philippine National Police and the Armed Forces of the Philippines, led by Chief Superintendent Ronaldo dela Rosa and Lieutenant General Ricardo Visaya.

He has chosen counter-terrorism veteran Colonel Rolando Bautista to head the Presidential Security Group.

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.