When are the 10 long weekends in 2019?

Aika Rey
You can now start planning your most awaited staycation and getaways. Grab your planner and mark the dates you need to file your leaves!

MANILA, Philippines – Get your planners and start planning for the 10 possible long weekends in 2019!

In August, President Rodrigo Duterte signed Proclamation No. 555 declaring the regular holidays and special non-working days for 2019. National holidays for Eid’l Fitr and Eid’l Adha will be declared after approximate dates have been determined. (READ: LIST: 2019 Philippine Holidays)

Of the 19 regular holidays and special non-working days, 13 fall near the weekends. 

What does this mean? You can now start planning your most awaited staycation or get-aways. Grab your planner and mark the dates you need to file your leaves!

Here’s the list of holidays and long weekends for 2019 (including when you should take that leave):

{source}<h3>January</h3>{/source}

Tuesday, January 1: New Year’s Day
Long weekend: Saturday, December 28 to Tuesday, January 1

{source}<h3>February</h3>{/source}

Tuesday, February 5: Chinese New Year
Long weekend: Saturday, February 2 to Tuesday, February 5
When to take a leave? Monday, February 4

Monday, February 25: EDSA Revolution Anniversary
Long weekend: Saturday, February 23 to Monday, February 25

{source}<h3>April</h3>{/source}

Tuesday, April 9: Araw ng Kagitingan
Long weekend: Saturday, April 6 to Tuesday, April 9
When to take a leave? Monday, April 8

Holy Week
Thursday, April 18: Maundy Thursday
Friday, April 19: Good Friday
Saturday, April 20: Black Saturday
Long weekend: Thursday, April 18 to Sunday, April 21

{source}<h3>June</h3>{/source}

Tuesday, June 4: Eidl Fitr (date may vary)
Long weekend: Saturday, June 1 to Tuesday, June 4
When to take a leave? Monday, June 3

{source}<h3>August</h3>{/source}

Monday, August 26: National Heroes’ Day
Long weekend: Saturday, August 24 to Monday, August 26

{source}<h3>November</h3>{/source}

Undas
Friday, November 1: All Saints’ Day
Long weekend: Friday, November 1 to Sunday, November 3

{source}<h3>December</h3>{/source}

Christmas
Tuesday, December 24: Special non-working day
Wednesday, December 25: Christmas Day
Long weekend: Saturday, December 21 to Wednesday, December 25
When to take a leave? Monday, December 23

New Year’s Day
Monday, December 30: Rizal Day
Tuesday, December 31: Special non-working day
Wednesday, January 1: New Year’s Day
Long weekend: Saturday, December 28 to Wednesday, January 1

– Rappler.com

Aika Rey

Aika Rey is a business reporter for Rappler. She covered the Senate of the Philippines before fully diving into numbers and companies. Got tips? Find her on Twitter at @reyaika or shoot her an email at aika.rey@rappler.com.