12 Customs collectors heed Biazon order

12 of 57 Customs port collectors submit their courtesy resignations on Saturday, July 27
PLANNED REFORMS. Embattled Customs commissioner Ruffy Biazon reveals a plan to reassign port collectors as part of the agency's reform plan. Photo by Arcel Cometa/Rappler.com

MANILA, Philippines – One day after Bureau of Customs (BOC) chief Rozzano Rufino Biazon announced an order for at least 17 port collectors to relinquish their posts, 12 of 57 collectors submitted their courtesy resignations. 

Biazon’s announcement came 3 days after President Aquino, in his State of the Nation Address, slammed the bureau for personnel who are “outdoing each other’s incompetence.”

READ: Aquino shames customs bureau

Biazon gave the collectors until Monday, July 29, to file their resignations. This will allow him to reassign them, he added.

Among the 12 who submitted courtesy resignations are the so-called “Three Kings” of Customs: District Collector Carlos So of the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, Port of Manila District Collector Rogel Gatchalian, and Manila International Container Port District Collector Ricardo Belmonte, ABS-CBNnews reported.

Other collectors who complied with Biazon’s order included:

  • Edward Dela Cuesta of Cebu
  • Oswaldo Geli of Surigao
  • Eduard James Dybuco of Davao
  • Adelina Molina of Subic
  • Ronnie Silvestre of Clark
  • Darwisha Shuck of Zamboanga 

Customs officials said the agency has 17 major port collectors nationwide and just as many sub-collectors.

Biazon said his order does not mean the port collectors are at fault, and that their resignations will not solve all the problems of the agency.

READ: Customs, corruption: A hopeless case?

Biazon and his two deputies — Danilo Lim and Juan Lorenzo Tañada — offered to resign after the SONA. But Malacañang said the President has yet to decide on whether or not to retain them. – Rappler.com