Kiko Pangilinan grabs solo lead from Sotto in survey
Kiko Pangilinan grabs solo lead from Sotto in survey
Erstwhile senatorial survey front runner Senator Vicente Sotto III slides to 2nd place

MANILA, Philippines – Former senator Francis Pangilinan grabbed the solo lead in the latest ABS-CBN survey on senatorial choices conducted by Pulse Asia from March 1-6, according to data released on Tuesday, March 15.

Erstwhile front runner Senator Vicente Sotto III slid to second place, joining Senate President Franklin Drilon and former senator Panfilo Lacson in that range, according to the survey that was held among 2,600 registered voters nationwide with a margin of error of (plus/minus) 1.9%.

The ABS-CBN commissioned survey said that of the 50 senatorial candidates running in the May 2016 elections, at least 14 have a “statistical chance” of winning if the polls were today.

A total of 12 senatorial slots are up for grabs in May.

Pangilinan enjoyed a voter preference of 53.1%. Sotto had 48.9%, while Drilon had 45.5% and Lacson had 45.1%.

The other candidates in the so-called winning circle are, like the top 3, either current or former lawmakers. Only former justice secretary Leila de Lima comes from the executive branch.

The other candidates who have a shot at a senate seat based on the survey are:

Senator Ralph Recto, 42.5% (3rd to 5th places)

Former senator Juan Miguel Zubiri, 36.5% (6th to 9th places)

Senator Sergio Osmeña III, 36.4% (6th to 9th places)

Former Senator Richard Gordon, 34.8% (6th to 11th places)

Former Akbayan Party List Representative Risa Hontiveros, 33.3% (6th to 11th places)

Sarangani Representative Emmanuel Pacquiao, 32.7% (8th to 11th places)

Former Department of Justice Secretary Leila M. de Lima, 32.1% (8th to 11th places)

Former Technical Education and Skills Development Authority director-general Joel Villanueva, 28.0% (12th to 14th places)

Senator Teofisto Guingona III, 26.3% (12th to 14th places)

Valenzuela City Representative Sherwin T. Gatchalian, 25.6% (12th to 14th places)

Immediately outside the winning circle are former Metro Manila Development Authority chief Francis Tolentino, former Pampanga Governor Mark Lapid, actor Edu Manzano, Leyte Representative Martin Romualdez, Manila Vice Mayor Isko Moreno, and Bayan Muna Rep Neri Colmenares. –



Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.