NPC’s Sagarbarria wins in Dumaguete City
NPC mayoral candidate and re-electionist Sagarbarria is proclaimed mayor of Dumaguete

WINNERS. Mayor Manuel Sagarbarria and Woodrow Maquiling Sr. with Board of Canvasser Chairman Jerome Brilliantes raise their arms for the win. Photo by Romualdo Señeris II

DUMAGUETE CITY, Philippines – At 1:30 pm on Tuesday, May 14, the City Board of Canvassers proclaimed Manuel Chiquiting Sagarbarria as mayor of Dumaguete.

Sagarbarria is from the Nationalist People’s Coalition (NPC). Former rival but current running mate, Woodrow Maquiling Sr, and 5 city councilors from the NPC were officially proclaimed as well.

Only two city councilors won from Liberal Party: Tony Remollo and Manny Arbon.

Re-electionist Sagarbarria was the leading candidate opposed by LP candidate Alan Gel Cordova.

Cordova was vice-mayor, and became part of the official mayoral ticket with the endorsement of PNoy and gubernatorial candidate Josy Limkaichong.

Sagarbarria won with 35,285 votes to Cordova’s 19,745.

At the proclamation, Sagarbarria said, “I am happy and honored that the City of Gentle People gave me another 36 months to serve them.” 

He won in all 30 barangays. Dumaguete City has a total of 73,270 registered voters.

The official turnout in Dumaguete based on the 90 precincts canvassed is 79.43%, which is higher than previous elections.

The PCOS machine at Cadawinonan still awaits its emergency CF card from Manila as the main card was corrupted. with reports from Rappler Ambassador Therene Quijano/

Is your bet leading in the 2013 elections?

Mirrored from Comelec 2013 election results data, we bring you latest numbers fresh from the server!

Check out these links to see results from:

See how fast the Comelec election results data is transmitted through the PCOS Transmission Status Map!

Feeling nostalgic? Watch how the May 13 elections unfold through Rappler’s hourly #PHvote livestreams:

For overall live updates on the aftermath of May 13 and stories leading up to Decision Day, check out our extensive 2013 Philippine elections coverage!

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.