5 ARMM governors join LP

'This realignment gives LP 100% of the provincial leadership'

100%: LP now has full control of the ARMM provincial leadership

MANILA, Philippines – All the 5 incumbent governors in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) took their oath Wednesday, July 25, as new members of President Benigno Aquino III’s Liberal Party (LP).

They are Maguindanao Gov Esmael Mangudadatu, Basilan Gov Jun Akbar, Lanao del Sur Gov Mamintal Adiong Jr, Tawi-Tawi Gov Sadikul Sahali, and Sulu Gov Abdusakar Tan.

All are ex-allies of former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

“ARMM is now treading the straight path. The 5 governors and other local leaders are now under the fold of the Liberal Party. This heralds the realization of change and progress in the ARMM,” said ARRM Gov Mujiv Hataman.

This realignment gives LP “100% of the provincial leadership and 85% of the mayors in the municipal level,” according to an LP statement.

The Commission on Elections recently conducted a general registration of voters in ARMM, aimed at removing “ghosts” from the list. There are at least a million voters in the region.

LP’s political bigwigs attended the oath taking. They are LP President Manuel “Mar” Roxas II, Interior and Local Government Secretary Jesse Robredo, Senator Frank Drilon, Senator Francis Pangilinan, Senator TG Guingona,  and former Senator Jun Magsaysay. – Rappler.com

More in Rappler’s Elections 2013 Coverage: