36 candidates face charges for overspending in 2010, 2013

Michael Bueza
36 candidates face charges for overspending in 2010, 2013
Among them, 3 are incumbent officials. Meanwhile, cases against 4 candidates have been dismissed due to their death.

MANILA, Philippines – The Commission on Elections (Comelec) is set to file charges against 36 candidates who were found to have overspent in the 2010 and 2013 elections.

According to Republic Act 7166 or the Synchronized National and Local Elections Law, candidates who belong to a political party are only allowed to spend P3 per registered voter.

Meanwhile, independent candidates are allowed to spend P5 per voter.

Among those found to have overspent, 3 are incumbent mayors: Gody Cardenas of Bucloc, Abra; Darell dela Flor of Belison, Antique; and Ibrahim Macadato of Butig, Lanao del Sur.

Macadato spent nearly 1,500% over the spending limit allowed by law.

Incumbent Official (Political Party)
Town/City Allowed Expenditures Amount Spent % of Excess
Mayor Gody Cardenas (LP) Bucloc, Abra P5,832 P10,000 71.47%
Mayor Darell Dela Flor (LP) Belison, Antique P24,912 P51,000 104.72%
Mayor Ibrahim Macadato (w/ political party) Butig, Lanao del Sur P23,184 P361,600 1,459.70%

Four losing 2013 candidates also overspent, according to the Comelec:

Candidate (Political Party)
Position Town/City Allowed Expenditures Amount Spent % of Excess
Mario B. Buyaccan (LP) Mayor Hingyon, Ifugao P24,522 P80,000 226.24%
Felipe F. Ferriol (LP) Vice Mayor Concepcion, Romblon P8,706 P15,000 72.30%
Jose A. Norella, Jr. (LP)* Mayor Magsaysay, Occidental Mindoro P56,835 P90,000 58.35%
Baltazar V. Sinajon (NPC) Vice Mayor Las Nieves, Agusan del Norte P44,175 P70,000 58.46%
* – For filing of information

The Comelec prepared cases against 40 candidates, but 4 of them had to be dismissed due to the respondents’ deaths. All of them ran in 2010:

  • Mayor Norodin M. Matalam (Lakas-CMD), Pagalungan, Maguindanao
  • Tony A. Dupiano (NP), mayoralty candidate, Kayapa, Nueva Vizcaya
  • Rumel A. Ocan (PMP), vice mayoralty candidate, Mercedes, Camarines Norte
  • Domingo R. Ontuca (LP), mayoralty candidate, Talalora, Samar

Meanwhile, the following candidates who ran in 2010 exceeded their campaign spending limits. Among them, 12 were elected:

Candidate (Political Party)
Position Town/City Allowed Expenditures Amount Spent % of Excess
Diomedes C. Amaroto Sr (Lakas, won) Mayor Pio V. Corpuz, Masbate P41,793 P200,000 378.55%
Oliver B. Bag-ayan (Lakas, won) Vice Mayor Daguioman, Abra P3,930 P20,000 408.91%
Junevell O. Balandra (Lakas, won) Mayor Guipos, Zamboanga del Sur P40,428 P85,000 110.25%
Aida B. Dela Rosa (Lakas, won) Mayor Malitbog, Bukidnon P43,479 P50,000 15.00%
Rogelio C. Delapa (NP, won) Provincial Board Member Batanes, 3rd District P13,992 P38,000 171.58%
Gima G. Kallahal (Ind., won) Councilor Tuburan, Basilan P28,590 P150,000 424.66%
George S. Legaspi (Lakas, won) Vice Mayor Loreto, Agusan del Sur P52,839 P130,000 146.03%
Abdul Said U. Lumenda (Ind., won) Councilor Rajah Buayan, Maguindanao P49,285 P149,428 203.19%
Romeo P. Magaway (LP, won) Mayor Dupax del Sur, Nueva Vizcaya P31,344 P150,000 378.56%
Oliver E. Ranque (Lakas, won)* Mayor Libagon, Southern Leyte P25,911 P101,974 293.56%
Alberto O. Rediang (LP, won) Vice Mayor** Mercedes, Eastern Samar P12,636 P55,000 335.26%
Virginia R. Zacate (Lakas, won) Mayor Sulat, Eastern Samar P29,436 P76,000 158.19%
Abdalun Hadjibon Awilun (with political party, lost) Governor Basilan P691,377 P1,450,000 109.73%
Proceso P. Balasbas (NP, lost) Mayor Mahatao, Batanes P3,228 P10,000 209.79%
Bonifacio R. Billones (Lakas, lost)* Mayor Bato, Camarines Sur P82,425 P300,000 263.97%
Rufo T. Cabos (LP, lost) Councilor Mercedes, Eastern Samar P12,636 P40,000 216.56%
Glenn Romeo M. Gontang (NP, lost) Mayor Gainza, Camarines Sur P19,002 P69,116 263.73%
Maria Riza P. Ledesma (Lakas, lost) Mayor Carmen, Agusan del Norte P39,753 P130,000 227.02%
Galao G. Lomioan (PMP, lost) Mayor Boliney, Abra P8,322 P42,000 404.69%
Michael Magsaysay (Ind., lost) Mayor San Juan, La Union P101,735 P210,000 P106.42%
Narzal B. Mallares (Aksyon Demokratiko, lost) Representative Antique, Lone District P865,014 P2,270,000 162.42%
Alex M. Manlapaz (LP, lost)* Mayor Apalit, Pampanga P155,256 P355,000 128.66%
Florencio A. Narido Jr (LP, lost) Representative Camiguin, Lone District P171,363 P200,000 16.71%
Lydia Ramos (Aksyon, lost) Representative Cagayan, 2nd District P500,817 P780,000 55.75%
Dante T. Reyes (PMP, lost) Mayor Batan, Aklan P56,514 P325,000 475.08%
Leopoldo C. Tomas (NPC, lost) Representative Nueva Ecija, 2nd District P848,580 P970,000 14.31%
Carlos Valdez, Jr. (NPC, lost) Governor Sultan Kudarat P1,135,056 P2,150,000 89.42%
Eduardo K. Veloso (NP, lost) Representative Leyte, 2nd District P318.354 P356,999.52 12.14%
Rey E. Yamaro (LP, lost) Vice Mayor Sierra Bullones, Bohol P46,311 P100,000 115.93%
* – For filing of information
** – Listed as Mayor in source document



Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.


Michael Bueza

Michael is a data curator under Rappler's Tech Team. He works on data about elections, governance, and the budget. He also follows the Philippine pro wrestling scene and the WWE. Michael is also part of the Laffler Talk podcast trio.