LIST: Areas under MECQ, GCQ, MGCQ until July 31

Lian Buan

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

Cebu City is the only area under MECQ. Metro Manila remains under GCQ.

President Rodrigo Duterte has decided to keep Metro Manila under general community quarantine (GCQ) until July 31, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said in a late night address on Wednesday, July 15.

The President also eased the lockdown in Cebu City to a modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ). Cebu City is the only area in the country under MECQ.

This means that Cebu City is still locked down, “except for indispensable industries, and movement is only for necessities and for work if the industry is allowed.”

In areas under MECQ, only a maximum of 5 people are allowed to gather in public.

Here is a list of GCQ and modified GCQ (MGCQ) medium risk areas:

  • Metro Manila
  • Laguna
  • Cavite
  • Rizal
  • Lapu Lapu City
  • Mandaue City
  • Ormoc City
  • Southern Leyte
  • Zamboanga City
  • Butuan City
  • Agusan del Norte
  • Basilan
  • Talisay, Minglanilla, and Consolacion in Cebu province

In areas under GCQ, economy is open but vulnerable people – meaning the elderly and the sick – are advised to stay at home.

Malls are open in areas under GCQ.

Roque said dine-in capacities in restaurants will increase from 30% to 50% come July 21.

Public gathering is allowed for a maximum of 10 people, but religious gatherings are allowed at a limited capacity of 10%.

Roque warned that Metro Manila could return to MECQ by August if coronavirus cases in the capital region continue to rise.

MGCQ medium risk areas:
  • Benguet
  • Baguio City
  • Ilocos Sur
  • Pangasinan
  • Ilocos Norte
  • La Union
  • Dagupan City
  • Cagayan
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Bataan
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Pampanga
  • Bulacan
  • Tarlac
  • Zambales
  • Angeles City
  • Batangas
  • Quezon
  • Lucena City
  • Oriental Mindoro
  • Occidental Mindoro
  • Puerto Princesa City
  • Albay
  • Masbate
  • Camarines Norte
  • Camarines Sur
  • Catanduanes
  • Sorsogon
  • Naga City
  • Iloilo
  • Negros Occidental
  • Capiz
  • Antique
  • Aklan
  • Guimaras
  • Iloilo City
  • Bacolod City
  • Negros Oriental
  • Bohol
  • The rest of Cebu province
  • Western Samar
  • Leyte
  • Biliran
  • Tacloban City
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Misamis Occidental
  • Bukidnon
  • Lanao del Norte
  • Cagayan de Oro City
  • Iligan City
  • Davao Oriental
  • Davao del Norte
  • Davao del Sur
  • Davao de Oro
  • Davao City
  • Sultan Kudarat
  • Cotabato
  • South Cotabato
  • General Santos City
  • Lanao del Sur
  • Maguindanao   

In MGCQ medium risk areas, local governments are still advised to implement granular lockdowns.

MGCQ medium risk areas are advised to quarantine entering overseas Filipino workers.

The rest of the country remains under MGCQ until July 31.

As of Wednesday, July 15, the Philippines has 58,850 coronavirus cases, with 1,614 deaths and 20,976 recoveries. –

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!
Face, Happy, Head


Lian Buan

Lian Buan is a senior investigative reporter, and minder of Rappler's justice, human rights and crime cluster.