MAP: Pending 2013 electoral protests

Michael Bueza

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

MAP: Pending 2013 electoral protests
A total of 59 electoral cases are pending at the Commission on Elections and the House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal

MANILA, Philippines – Exactly one year since the May 13, 2013 midterm elections, electoral battles are still unresolved in some areas.

A total of 59 electoral cases are pending at the Commission on Elections (Comelec) and the House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal (HRET), out of a combined 102 cases filed by defeated candidates and registered voters in relation to the 2013 midterm polls.

As of March 31, 2014, the Comelec has received a total of 65 electoral protest cases (EPC), with 33 assigned to the First Division and 32 to the Second Division.

The Comelec’s First Division has yet to decide on 20 EPCs, while the Second Division has 17 pending EPCs.

In addition, 4 dismissed cases (2 from each division) out of the 28 resolved EPCs were elevated to the Comelec en banc.

Meanwhile, the HRET has received 37 electoral cases – 27 electoral protests and 10 quo warranto cases (questioning a winning candidate’s qualifications).

As of May 9, 2014, the HRET has already resolved 19 cases (15 election protests and 4 quo warranto cases).

The map below shows the provinces, cities, and legislative districts which have pending electoral protests. Click the circles and pins to view the details of each case.

Yellow circles are used to mark ongoing EPCs in the Comelec, while yellow pins are used to mark ongoing cases in the HRET.

The map also shows dismissed and withdrawn electoral cases. These cases are marked by red markers and pins on the map.

In the window that pops up after clicking a pin or marker, the name of the protestant (the defeated candidate or a registered voter) who filed the election protest is listed first, followed by the name of the protestee (winning candidate).

Electoral protests were filed before the Comelec against the following officials:

  • 14 governors (with La Union Governor Manuel Ortega facing 2 EPCs)
  • 4 vice governors
  • 24 city mayors
  • 11 city vice mayors
  • 1 regional assemblyman of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM)

In addition, two EPCs against provincial board members and 8 EPCs against city councilors were filed.

Meanwhile, notable among the 18 ongoing cases in the HRET are:

  • the election protest filed by actor Aga Muhlach against Representative Felix William Fuentebella of the 4th district of Camarines Sur
  • the election protest of Wigberto Tañada against Rep. Angelina Tan of the 4th district of Quezon
  • 2 quo warranto cases filed against Representative Regina Reyes of the lone district of Marinduque (the election protest by defeated candidate Lord Allan Jay Velasco and one other quo warranto case have been resolved)

(READ: Belmonte: Reyes in, Tañada out of House members listThe total number of electoral cases with regard to the 2013 polls was lower compared to the 2010 elections, when a combined 159 cases were filed: 96 in the Comelec and 63 in the HRET.

Election protests can be filed before the Comelec within 10 days after the proclamation of a winning local candidate.

In the HRET, however, the period of filing of election protests is within 15 days after the proclamation of a House representative. There is no prescriptive period for the filing of quo warranto cases. –

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!
Tie, Accessories, Accessory


Michael Bueza

Michael is a data curator under Rappler's Tech Team. He works on data about elections, governance, and the budget. He also follows the Philippine pro wrestling scene and the WWE. Michael is also part of the Laffler Talk podcast trio.