LIST: Who’s who in the incoming Duterte Cabinet

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

LIST: Who’s who in the incoming Duterte Cabinet
(11th UPDATE) Here is a list of people president-elect Rodrigo Duterte plans to appoint to key positions in government

CABINET MEETING. Rodrigo Duterte meets his Cabinet appointees in PICC on June 15, 2016. Photos from RTVM

MANILA, Philippines (11th UPDATE) – Who are the men and women president-elect Rodrigo Duterte will count on to bring promised change to different areas in government?

On June 30, Duterte’s Cabinet appointees will also take their oath as government officials.

Here is a list of people who Duterte has identified as his future Cabinet secretaries in various press conferences or media interviews starting in May.

Social Welfare Secretary: target=”_blank”>Judy Taguiwalo

Executive Secretary:
Salvador Medialdea

Cabinet Secretary: Leoncio “Jun” Evasco

Budget Secretary: Benjamin Diokno

Defense Secretary: Delfin Lorenzana

Interior Secretary: Mike Sueño

Foreign Secretary:
Perfecto Yasay Jr

Justice Secretary: Vitaliano Aguirre II

Transportation and Communications Secretary:
Arthur Tugade

Public Works and Highways Secretary: Mark Villar

Agriculture Secretary: Emmanuel “Manny” Piñol

Agrarian Reform Secretary: Rafael Mariano

Environment Secretary: Gina Lopez

Science and Technology Secretary: Fortunato Dela Peña

Energy Secretary: Alfonso Cusi

Education Secretary: Leonor Briones

Trade and Industry Secretary: Ramon Lopez

Tourism Secretary: Wanda Corazon Teo

Presidential Communications Operations Office: Martin Andanar

Presidential Spokesperson: Ernie Abella

Solicitor General: Jose Calida

Presidential Legal Counsel:
Salvador Panelo

Special Assistant to the President with general supervision over Presidential Management Staff: Christopher “Bong” Go

Mindanao Peace Process Adviser: Jesus Dureza

Presidential Assistant for the Visayas: Michael Dino

National Economic Development Authority Chief: Ernesto Pernia

National Security Adviser: Hermogenes Esperon Jr.

Police Matters Undersecretary under DILG: Catalino Cuy

National Bureau of Investigation Chief: Dante Giran

Philippine Drug Enforcement Agency Chief: Isidro Lapeña

Bureau of Customs Chief: Nicanor Faeldon

Bureau of Immigration and Deportation Chief: Jaime Morente

Bureau of Internal Revenue: Cesar Dulay

National Intelligence Coordinating Agency Chief: Alex Monteagudo

Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board Chief: Martin Delgra

Land Transportation Office Chief: Edgar Navante

National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Chief: Ricardo Jalad

Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation Chief: Andrea Domingo


Also offered the position of either justice secretary or foreign secretary is Duterte’s defeated running mate, Senator Alan Peter Cayetano. However, he is banned from being appointed to an executive position for one year. Cayetano can choose which post he prefers after a year, Duterte said.

Duterte opened 4 departments to the Philippine Left – DOLE, DENR, DSWD, and DAR. But only DAR and DSWD were given to Left nominees. 

Heads for PNP, AFP, PSG

Duterte has also named his top picks for the Philippine National Police and the Armed Forces of the Philippines, led by Chief Superintendent Ronaldo dela Rosa and Lieutenant General Ricardo Visaya.

He has chosen counter-terrorism veteran Colonel Rolando Bautista to head the Presidential Security Group.

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!