LIST: Duterte appointees announced on September 1, 2016

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

LIST: Duterte appointees announced on September 1, 2016

Toto Lozano

The new appointees include Fisheries Undersecretary Eduardo Gongona and Foreign Undersecretary Manuel Teehankee

MANILA, Philippines – Malacañang released a list of the latest appointees of President Rodrigo Duterte on Thursday night, September 1.

The new presidential appointees include Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Director Eduardo Gongona, Dangerous Drugs Board chairman Benjamin Panganiban Perez, Agricultural Training Institute Director Alfredo Sarautom Aton, and Office of Civil Defense Director Liza Fidelis Fernandez Cañada.

Also in the list are new undersecretaries and assistant secretaries of the interior, agriculture, health, foreign affairs, and trade departments.

Interior Undersecretary John Castriciones, a lawyer, was active in the Duterte presidential campaign. He was executive vice president of Mayor Rodrigo Roa Duterte (MRRD) group, a nationwide volunteer organization.

Newly-appointed Interior Undersecretary Emily Padilla was also a core member of MRRD. 

Agriculture Undersecretary Evelyn Laviña is the wife of Duterte campaign spokesman and now Deputy Cabinet Secretary Peter Laviña.

Former Armed Forces chief General Emmanuel Bautista was retained as an undersecretary at the Office of the President, the same position he held under the previous administration.

Despite opposition from labor groups, Manuel Teehankee was appointed as foreign affairs undersecretary.

Migrant groups had earlier asked the President not to appoint Teehankee, citing a  case filed against him by his house helper in 2005, when he was Philippine ambassador to the World Trade Organization in Geneva. He allegedly refused to give her days-off and paid her less than the Swiss minimum wage.

Teehankee was found guilty of usury, and sentenced to 60 days on probation and fined 400 Swiss Francs* by the Geneva Police Court in Switzerland on December 17, 2014.

But Teehankee said his actions were a result of a “misunderstanding” on the required amount of wages under Swiss laws and that he has already paid all the proper wages.

Teehankee was a justice undersecretary during the administration of Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

Here is the complete list of appointees announced on September 1, 2016:

  • John Rualo Castriciones – Undersecretary, Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG)
  • Jesus Villanueva Hinlo Jr – Undersecretary, DILG
  • Emily Ortiz Padilla – Undersecretary, DILG
  • Emmanuel T. Bautista – Undersecretary, Office of the President
  • Sarah G. Cayona – Deputy Executive Director III, Philippine Council for Agriculture and Fisheries, Department of Agriculture (DA)
  • Reynaldo O. Munsayac – Commissioner, Presidential Commission on Good Government, Department of Justice (DOJ)
  • Pelagio U. Samson – Director, Philippine Center on Transnational Crime, under OP
  • Marcial Quirico C. Amaro  III – Administrator, Maritime Industry Authority, Department of Transportation
  • Liza Fidelis Fernandez Cañada –  Director III, Office of Civil Defense under Department of National Defense
  • Ariel T. Cayanan – Undersecretary, Department of Agriculture (DA)
  • Ranibai Dacula Dilangalen – Undersecretary, DA
  • Evelyn Gonzales Laviña – Undersecretary, DA
  • Hansel O. Didulo – Assistant Secretary, DA
  • Enrico P. Garzon Jr – Assistant Secretary, DA
  • Lerey A. Panes – Assistant Secretary, DA
  • Francisco M. Villano Jr – Assistant Secretary, DA
  • Antinio Biñas Arellano – Member, Government of the Philippines Negotiating Panel for Peace Talks with the CPP/NPA/NDF, Office of the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process
  • Victor Barranco Prodigo – Executive Director III, Philippine Fiber Industry Development Authority, DA
  • Eduardo Baluca Gongona – Director IV, Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources, DA
  • Rafaelita Mercado Aldaba – Assistant Secretary, Department of Trade and Industry (DTI)
  • Benjamin Panganiban Perez – Member and Chairperson, Dangerous Drugs Board
  • Alfredo Sarautom Aton – Director III, Agricultural Training Institute under DA
  • Achilles Gerard C. Bravo – Undersecretary, Department of Health (DOH)
  • Roger P. Tong-an – Undersecretary, DOH
  • Agnette P. Peralta – Assistant Secretary, DOH
  • Abdullah B. Dumama Jr – Assistant Secretary, DOH
  • Arturo Pecision Boncato Jr – Assistant Secretary, DTI
  • Rowel Sevilla Barba – Undersecretary, DTI
  • Ruth Bernardino Castelo – Undersecretary, DTI
  • Teodoro Cabacungan Pascua – Undersecretary, DTI
  • Ceferino Samson Rodolfo – Undersecretary, DTI
  • Nora Kakilala Terrado – Undersecretary, DTI
  • Anna Maria Diaz-Robeniol – Assistant Secretary, DTI
  • Ameenah Abcede Fajardo – Assistant Secretary, DTI
  • Ariel Y. Abadilla – Undersecretary, Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA)
  • Linglingay F. Lacanlale – Undersecretary, DFA
  • Enrique A. Manalo – Undersecretary, DFA
  • Manuel Antonio J. Teehankee – Undersecretary, DFA
  • Jesus I. Yabes – Undersecretary, DFA


Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!