Duterte signs law creating 2 new Isabela districts

Pia Ranada

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

Duterte signs law creating 2 new Isabela districts


President Rodrigo Duterte also signs a proclamation creating a special economic zone near the Mactan International Airport in Cebu

MANILA, Philippines – President Rodrigo Duterte signed a law creating two new legislative districts for the province of Isabela in Cagayan Valley region. 

Republic Act No 11080, signed on September 27, establishes the 5th and 6th districts of Isabela. This means that in the next elections, the province will be electing 6 representatives instead of the current 4. 

The 6 districts are as follows:

1st District

  • Ilagan City
  • Cabagan
  • Delfin Albano
  • Divilacan
  • Maconacon
  • Tumauini
  • San Pablo
  • Sta Maria
  • Sto Tomas

2nd District

  • Benito Soliven
  • Palanan
  • Naguilian
  • Reina Mercedes
  • San Mariano
  • Gamu

3rd District

  • Alicia
  • Cabatuan
  • San Mateo
  • Ramon
  • Angadanan

4th District

  • Santiago City
  • Cordon
  • Dinapigue
  • San Agustin
  • Jones

5th District

  • Aurora
  • Burgos
  • Luna
  • Mallig
  • Quezon
  • Quirino
  • Roxas
  • San Manuel

6th District

  • Cauayan City
  • Echague
  • San Guillermo
  • San Isidro

Duterte earlier signed a law creating the 8th District of vote-rich Cavite province.

Cebu special economic zone

Duterte also signed a proclamation creating the MacroAsia Cebu Special Economic Zone, a new special economic zone, from two parcels of land near the Mactan International Airport in Lapu-Lapu, Cebu.

Proclamation No 590 was signed on September 17. 

A special economic zone is defined as areas to be developed into agro-industrial, Industrial tourist/recreational, commercial, banking, investment and financial centers. They may contain industrial estates, export processing zones, free trade zones, and tourist or recreational centers.

An export processing zone within an ecozone means enterprises that set up shop there can import capital equipment and raw materials without paying taxes or being imposed import restrictions.

A free trade zone, meanwhile, is an “isolated policed area” where imported goods may be unloaded without being subject to import duties. Movement of these goods from the free-trade area to a non-free-trade area, however, will be subject to import duties. – Rappler.com

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!
Sleeve, Clothing, Apparel


Pia Ranada

Pia Ranada is Rappler’s Community Lead, in charge of linking our journalism with communities for impact.