6 bets face off in Rappler senatorial debate


This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

The senatorial debate -- April 13, Saturday, 7-9 pm -- will be held at the Quezon City Memorial Circle, livestreamed on Rappler.com and broadcast nationwide on Radyo Natin's 100 stations

MANILA, Philippines – What do they stand for? And why should we vote for them?

On Saturday, April 13, exactly a month before the May 13 elections, Rappler is holding a senatorial debate in a public park, the Quezon City Memorial Circle. By doing so, Rappler hopes to bring as close as possible to the people a political exercise that will allow a free exchange of ideas on issues that matter to the life of the nation.

Facing off are the following candidates:

  • Risa Hontiveros (Team PNoy) and Teddy Casiño (Makabayan);
  • Grace Poe (Team PNoy) and Eddie Villanueva (Bangon Pilipinas);
  • Bam Aquino (Team PNoy) and Richard Gordon (United Nationalist Alliance).

The debate will livestreamed here and simulcast on Radyo Natin’s 100 radio stations nationwide (check the list of Radyo Natin stations below this article). The debate will begin at 7 pm and end at 9 pm.

Netizens can also follow the live blog by clicking here.

Before this, Rappler wil be conducting a Google Hangout with the social media managers of 5 of the 6 senatorial candidates, to talk about the challenges of and strategies in bringing the campaigns online.

It is the first media debate to be held in an open space in these elections — at the Liwasang Aurora, Quezon Memorial Circle just across Quezon City Hall. This will allow as many voters to participate in the discussions. Those who want to attend may secure seats by availing of the free tickets that Rappler is distributing online. But they have to be at the venue before 6:30 pm or forfeit their seats. 

Moderated by Chay F. Hofileña, Rappler’s citizen journalism director and co-author (with Miriam Grace A. Go) of Ambition, Destiny, Victory: Stories From A Presidential Election, a book on the 2010 presidential race, the debate will allow the audience — both online and on the ground — to participate in the two-hour event. 
Candidates will explain their platforms in a 3-minute opening speech. The debate will also end with their speeches explaining why voters should choose them over the other candidates. In between the speeches, candidates will answer questions from fellow candidates, the audience, and social media participants. – Rappler.com


1 CAR Bontoc Mt. Province
2 CAR Buguias Benguet
3 CAR Tabuk Kalinga
4 I Bangued Abra
5 I Candon Ilocos Sur
6 II Claveria Cagayan
7 II Aparri Cagayan
8 II Bayombong Nueva Vizcaya
9 II Santiago Isabela
10 II Maddela Quirino
11 III Alaminos Pangasinan
12 III Guimba Nueva Ecija
13 III Iba Zambales
14 III San Jose Nueva Ecija
15 IV Atimonan Quezon
16 IV Baler Aurora
17 IV Boac Marinduque
18 IV Bongabong Or. Mindoro
19 IV Brooke’s Point Palawan
20 IV Calauag Quezon
21 IV Catanauan Quezon
22 IV Coron Palawan
23 IV Gumaca Quezon
24 IV Infanta Quezon
25 IV Looc Romblon
26 IV Naujan Or. Mindoro
27 IV Odiongan Romblon
28 IV Padre Garcia Batangas
29 IV Pinamalayan Or. Mindoro
30 IV Roxas Or. Mindoro
31 IV Roxas Palawan
32 IV Sablayan Occ. Mindoro
33 IV San Jose Occ. Mindoro
34 IV Sta. Cruz Marinduque
35 V Buhi Camarines Sur
36 V Iriga City Camarines Sur
37 V Irosin Sorsogon
38 V Masbate City Masbate
39 V Paracale Camarines Norte
40 V Pilar Sorsogon
41 V Pio Duran Albay
42 V Sorsogon City Sorsogon
43 V Sta. Elena Camarines Norte
44 V Tabaco Albay
45 V Tiwi Albay
46 V Virac Catanduanes

47 VI Argao Cebu
48 VI Madridejos Cebu
49 VI Pinamungahan Cebu
50 VI Hinigaran Negros Occ.
51 VI Kabankalan Negros Occ.
52 VI Sipalay Negros Occ.
53 VI San Carlos City Negros Occ.
54 VI Bugasong Antique
55 VI Patnongon Antique
56 VI Sagay Negros Occ.
57 VI San Jose Antique
58 VII Bais City Negros Oriental
59 VII Bayawan Negros Oriental
60 VII Guihulngan Negros Oriental
61 VII Jagna Bohol
62 VII Ubay Bohol
63 VIII Allen Northern Samar
64 VIII Baybay Leyte
65 VIII Ormoc Leyte
66 VIII Calbayog Western Samar
67 VIII Guiuan Eastern Samar
68 VIII Naval Biliran
69 VIII Sogod Southern Leyte
70 VIII  Borongan Eastern Samar
71 VIII  Oras Eastern Samar
72 IX Buug Zamboanga Sibugay
73 IX Kabasalan Zamboanga Sibugay
74 IX Margosatubig Zambo del Sur
75 IX Ipil Zambo del Sibugay
76   Dipolog Zambo del Norte
77 IX Pagadian City Zambo del Sur
78 IX Sindangan Zambo del Norte
79   Cagayan de Oro Misamis Oriental
80 X Gingoog Misamis Oriental
81 X Manolo Fortich Bukidnon
82 X Maramag Bukidnon
83 XI Baganga Davao Oriental
84 XI Gov. Generoso Davao Oriental
85 XI Lupon Davao Oriental
86 XI Kiamba Sarangani
87 XI Malita Davao del Sur
88 XI Manay Davao Oriental
89 XI Mati Davao Oriental
90 XI Nabunturan Compostela
91 XI Sto. Tomas Davao del Norte
92 XI Tagum Davao del Norte
93 XII Isulan Sultan Kudarat
94 XII Kidapawan North Cotabato
95 XII Tacurong Sultan Kudarat
96 ARMM Bongao Tawi-tawi
97 ARMM Marawi City Lanao del Sur
98 CARAGA Bayugan Agusan del Sur
99 CARAGA Bislig Surigao del Sur
100 CARAGA San Francisco Agusan del Sur

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!