Senate race: Drilon overtakes Villanueva in latest official tally

Michael Bueza

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

Senate race: Drilon overtakes Villanueva in latest official tally
This is based on 121 out of 166 Certificates of Canvass (COCs) as of Monday, May 16

MANILA, Philippines – Senate President Franklin Drilon has overtaken former Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) Director General Joel Villanueva for the number one spot in the latest partial, official tally of the 2016 senatorial elections.

This is according to the second canvass report released by the Commission on Elections (Comelec) on Monday, May 16.

Below are the top 15 Senate bets in the partial, official tally based on 121 out of 166 Certificates of Canvass (COCs):

Rank Candidate Votes
1 DRILON, Frank 18,307,801
2 VILLANUEVA, Joel Tesdaman 18,212,639
3 SOTTO, Vicente 16,985,226
4 LACSON, Panfilo Ping 16,687,586
5 GORDON, Dick 16,444,672
6 ZUBIRI, Migz 15,788,531
7 PACQUIAO, Manny 15,735,079
8 HONTIVEROS, Risa 15,673,393
9 PANGILINAN, Kiko 15,665,050
10 GATCHALIAN, Win 14,726,503
11 RECTO, Ralph 14,030,498
12 DE LIMA, Leila 13,894,048
13 TOLENTINO, Francis 12,604,848
14 OSMEÑA, Sergio III 12,467,678
15 ROMUALDEZ, Martin 12,056,005

The total number of COCs includes the one for local absentee voting results.

Meanwhile, the COCs from Laguna and Southern Leyte remain under investigation due to problems found in the COCs transmitted to the Comelec, sitting as the National Board of Canvassers.

The ranking of the top 12 bets in the latest partial, official count is now the same as that in the unofficial count via the Comelec Transparency Server as of Monday afternoon.

On Monday, lawyers of some Senate bets in the top 12 asked the Comelec to already proclaim the winners. They said that the remaining votes to be canvassed would not affect the ranking anymore.

But a lawyer representing Francis Tolentino, who is currently in 13th place, objected to this manifestation, arguing that all votes should be canvassed before proclamation.

The poll body expects to finish the canvassing of votes and proclaim the winners either by Tuesday, May 17, or Thursday, May 19.

Here is the rest of the partial, official tally:

Rank Candidate Votes
16 DOMAGOSO, Isko Moreno 10,961,637
17 GUINGONA, TG 10,106,937
18 PETILLA, Carlos Jericho 6,836,097
19 LAPID, Mark 6,477,702
20 COLMENARES, Neri 6,391,583
21 MANZANO, Edu 5,179,513
22 ROMULO, Roman 4,743,139
23 OPLE, Susan 2,728,369
24 LACSAMANA, Alma Moreno 2,373,759
25 BELGICA, Greco 2,064,001
26 ALUNAN, Raffy 1,982,877
27 GADON, Larry 1,932,982
28 LANGIT, Rey 1,813,907
29 KAPUNAN, Atty. Lorna 1,795,251
30 SANTIAGO, Dionisio 1,781,236
31 PAGDILAO, Samuel 1,720,115
32 CHAVEZ, Mel 1,697,799
33 NAPEÑAS, Getulio 1,681,573
34 AMBOLODTO, Ina 1,586,031
35 MONTAÑO, Allan 1,561,152
36 BELLO, Walden 1,062,564
37 KIRAM, Princess Jacel 932,918
38 ALBANI, Shariff 837,952
39 PALPARAN, Jovito Jr. 828,888
40 PAEZ, Mr. Coop 788,581
41 CAM, Sandra 785,908
42 LIBAN, Dante 765,160
43 MONTAÑO, Mon 737,928
44 MAGANTO, Romeo 712,455
45 ARQUIZA, Godofredo 661,350
46 ALI, Aldin 655,993
47 BALIGOD, Levito 575,677
48 VALEROSO, Diosdado 512,576
49 DORONA, Ray 479,238
50 KABALU, Eid 362,693

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!
Tie, Accessories, Accessory


Michael Bueza

Michael is a data curator under Rappler's Tech Team. He works on data about elections, governance, and the budget. He also follows the Philippine pro wrestling scene and the WWE. Michael is also part of the Laffler Talk podcast trio.