Former Ateneo juniors champion coach to call shots for UE

Delfin Dioquino
(UPDATED) Joe Silva replaces Derrick Pumaren as the Red Warriors' tactician

NEW TACTICIAN. Joe Silva will take over the head coaching reins of the UE Red Warriors. Photo from Silva's Facebook account

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATED) – UAAP juniors champion coach Joe Silva will try to turn the University of the East’s fortunes around as the new head coach of the Red Warriors. 

Silva, who steered the Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eaglets to two UAAP titles, is set to take over the Red Warriors following Derrick Pumaren’s exit.

He confirmed the development to Rappler but said he has yet to sign a contract. 

“Well I haven’t signed any contract yet so no official announcement yet by UE. But I started last May 1 and went to their game today. So yes, I’m with UE now,” said Silva through a Facebook exchange with Rappler. 

“I’ll sign my contract maybe next week. Still waiting for some details.”

Silva, who helped the Blue Eaglets reach the Promised Land this season, hopes to bring the same magic in UE, which last played in the Final Four in 2009.

First, a change in their culture is needed for the Red Warriors, who ended last season with a dismal 3-11 record. 

“We, coaching staff, started late so we have to work double time. We rebuild. We are looking long term also. We will develop our current players then we recruit for next season. Definitely we will get an import. Goal is to change the culture first. Then let success take care of itself.”

Through his Twitter account, Silva expressed his gratitude to Ateneo, where he spent 14 years of his life. 

“Thank you for the best 14 yrs of my life. I will always be grateful to ateneo. Obf always,” tweeted the tactician. 


Delfin Dioquino

Delfin Dioquino dreamt of being a PBA player, but he did not have the skills to make it. So he pursued the next best thing to being an athlete – to write about them. He took up journalism at the University of Santo Tomas and joined Rappler as soon as he graduated in 2017.