Yap, Miller, Alapag included in PBA’s 40 greatest list

Naveen Ganglani

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

Yap, Miller, Alapag included in PBA’s 40 greatest list
Headlining the list are two-time PBA MVPs James Yap, Willie Miller, and Danny Ildefonso as the league is set to celebrate its 40th season


MANILA, Philippines – A number of former PBA MVPs and other notable stars are expected to be added to the league’s list of greatest players as part of the PBA’s 40th anniversary next year.

The list currently consists of the original list of 25 PBA legends and will add 15 names during a blue-ribbon event next season, according to corroborating reports from Nelson Beltran and Snow Badua. PBA officials declined to comment on the matter.

The reports also say that a special nomination committee consisting of PBA legend Robert Jaworski, Freddie Webb, PBA Chairman Patrick Gregorio, Vice Chairman Robert Non, Congressman Elpido Barzaga, and media members Joaquin Henson and Barry Pascua used the following guidelines to determine who made the cut:

Honorees must have played five full seasons in the league; must be a recipient of a major award; and must have made an impact with the sport and league.

Included in the list are former two-time PBA MVPs Willie Miller, Danny Ildefonso, and James Yap; former PBA MVPs Asi Taulava, Eric Menk, Jimmy Alapag, Kelly Williams, Jayjay Helterbrand, Mark Caguioa, and Arwind Santos; and former and current PBA All-Stars Marc Pingris, Jayson Castro, Chito Loyzaga, Marlou Aquino, and Kerby Raymundo.

The 15 aforementioned players will join an honorary group that already has 25 of the greatest to ever play in the PBA: Jaworski, Ramon Fernandez, Alvin Patrimonio, Bogs Adornado, Abet Guidaben, Benjie Paras, Atoy Co, Freddie Hubalde, Philip Cezar, Ricky Brown, Johnny Abarrientos, Ato Agustin, Francis Arnaiz, Allain Caidic, Hector Calma, Jerry Codinera, Kenneth Duremdes, Bernie Fabiosa, Samboy Lim, Ronnie Magsanoc, Manny Paner, Danny Florencio, Lim Eng Beng, Vergel Meneses and Jojo Lastimosa.

Notable players who failed to make the cut include: Danny Seigle, Olsen Racela, Dennis Espino, Jun Limpot, Nelson Asaytono, Bong Hawkins, and Abe King.

– Rappler.com

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!