ASEAN Intl Film Fest and Awards open

Kai Magsanoc
The biggest gathering of veteran and upcoming filmmakers, actors, and film professionals in Asia opens in Sarawak

HAPPY GROUP. The Philippine contingent of the ASEAN International Film Festival and Awards at the Bagasa Holiday Residences in Kuching. All photos by Kai Magsanoc

SARAWAK, Malaysia – On March 28 at 12nn, the first ASEAN International Film Festival and Awards (AIFFA) opened at the Sarawak Cultural Village in Kuching, Malaysia.

Screenings of 100 films from ASEAN member countries (except Cambodia) and more are being held simultaneously at 8 different venues in the Cultural Village.

Participating countries are:

  • Malaysia
  • Brunei
  • Singapore
  • Philippines
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Vietnam
  • Myanmar
  • Laos
  • USA
  • India
  • Russia
  • Australia

Hailed as the biggest gathering of veteran and upcoming filmmakers, actors, and film professionals in Asia, AIFFA will run until the gala night and awards ceremony on March 30, 7pm, at the Borneo Convention Center Kuching.

Veteran actor Ricky Davao leads the Philippine contingent as a member of the AIFFA jury. 

Other members of the Philippine delegation are:

  • Rain Yamson
  • Dominic Roco
  • Paul Sta Ana
  • Ian Lorenos
  • Whammy Alcazaren
  • Paulo Reyes
  • Mel Navarro
  • Pilar Mateo
  • Kai Magsanoc (Rappler)
  • Jericho Rosales
  • Marinez Elizalde
  • Kim Jones
  • Mark Lapid
  • Jess Lapid
  • Daisy Reyes
  • Ricardo Sanchez
  • Law Fajardo
  • Alfred Vargas
  • Yasmine Espiritu
  • Ima Castro
MORAL SUPPORT. Kim Jones of ETC's 'Etcetera' with boyfriend Jericho Rosales. Echo's film 'Alagwa' screens on March 28, 8:30pm at Gasing Hut, Sarawak Cultural Village

13 films from the Philippines are in the film fest shortlist:

  1. “Posas” by Law Fajardo
  2. “ Ang Nawawala” by Marie Jamora
  3. “Qiyamah” by Gutierrez Mangansakan II
  4. “Supremo” by Richard Somes
  5. “Grave Bandits” by T.A. Acierto
  6. “ Algawa” by Ian Lorenos
  7. “Aparisyon” by Vincent Sandoval
  8. “Oros” by Paul Sta. Ana
  9. “Colossal” by Whammy Alcazaren
  10. “Sta. Nina” by Manny Palo
  11. “In Bangka Ha Ut Sin Duwa Sapah” (The Boat Between Two Rivers) by Sigfreid Barros Sanchez
  12. “Mga Kidnappers ni Ronnie Lazaro” by Sigfreid Barros Sanchez
  13. “The Animals” by Gino Santos
AVID FANS. Fans from Malaysia take a photo with Echo at Kuching International Airport. His series co-starring Kristine Hermosa, 'Pangako Sa 'Yo,' is still airing in Malaysia, says girlfriend Kim.

AIFFA comes in the heels of the Hong Kong-based 7th Asian Film Awards held last March 18. Nora Aunor won Best Actress for “Thy Womb” while Eddie Garcia won Best Actor and Best Actor People’s Choice for “Bwakaw.”

READ: Complete list of 7th Asian Film Awards winners

AIFFA nominees will be announced in a formal opening event at 6pm. Keep posted for the official list. –

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.