108 Ilocos police chiefs reshuffled ahead of 2019 elections

Rambo Talabong

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

108 Ilocos police chiefs reshuffled ahead of 2019 elections
This is being done to prevent the local police chiefs from getting 'too familiar' with their counterpart local officials

MANILA, Philippines – The Philippine National Police (PNP) Ilocos Region has reshuffled 108 of its local chiefs in preparation for the 2019 elections, regional police office spokesperson Superintendent Mary Peralta confirmed to Rappler on Thursday, January 3.

“108 local police chiefs shuffled effective January 2,” Peralta said in a phone interview.

The reshuffled policemen account for almost all top cops of Ilocos, as they currently have 125 local police stations.

The 17 others were not plucked from their positions, Peralta said, because they were relatively new to their posts. They would be reshuffled later, she added.

The regional refitting was done so that the police officials don’t get “too familiar” with their counterpart local chief executives. Ideally, local police chiefs stay in one position for a maximum of two years only before being transferred or promoted. 

Of the 108 transferred, Peralta said there were two police chiefs who were first relieved because of stray bullet incidents in their areas of responsibility. These are the police chiefs of San Carlos City and Basista town in Pangasinan.

The PNP is currently collating the list of cities and municipalities and names of police officials affected by the overhaul. –

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI
Clothing, Apparel, Person


Rambo Talabong

Rambo Talabong covers the House of Representatives and local governments for Rappler. Prior to this, he covered security and crime. He was named Jaime V. Ongpin Fellow in 2019 for his reporting on President Rodrigo Duterte’s war on drugs. In 2021, he was selected as a journalism fellow by the Fellowships at Auschwitz for the Study of Professional Ethics.