Duterte Cabinet

Finance Secretary Dominguez highest-paid Cabinet member in 2020

Though Dominguez is listed as the highest paid among the Duterte Cabinet, he only ranked a humble 146th among the 8,737 public officials in the 2020 Report on Salaries and Allowances of COA

Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez III emerged as highest-paid Cabinet member of President Rodrigo Duterte in 2020 based on the Report on Salaries and Allowances (ROSA) released by the Commission on Audit Wednesday, May 12.

The 2020 ROSA showed that Dominguez earned a total of P4.943 million that year.

He previously occupied the 7th spot among the members of the Cabinet in the 2019 report.

The ROSA is an annual report prepared by COA that contains details of the salaries, allowances, and benefits received in the previous year by high-ranking government officials.

It lists all officials of national government agencies (departments, bureaus, and constitutional bodies) and government-owned or controlled corporations (GOCCs).

Among the particulars compiled and summarized in the ROSA are the basic pay, allowances, bonuses, and discretionary funds at their disposal.

The ROSA can be viewed or downloaded by the public in COA’s official website: www.coa.gov.ph.

Though Dominguez was the highest paid among the Duterte Cabinet, he only ranked a humble 146th among the 8,737 public officials listed in the 2020 ROSA.

The second top-earner in the Cabinet was Energy Secretary Alfonso Cusi who received P4.88 million in 2020. Labor Secretary Silvestre Bello was third-ranked with P4.857 million,

2019’s highest earner Science Secretary Fortunato dela Peña slipped to fourth place this year, with a total paycheck of P4.854 million last year.  

Rounding up the top five Cabinet salary list was Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra who held the same spot in 2019.

The complete list of Cabinet officials:

  1. Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez III – P4.943 million
  2. Energy Secretary Alfonso Cusi – P4.88 million
  3. Labor Secretary Silvestre Bello III – P4.857 million
  4. Science Secretary Fortunato dela Peña – P4.854 million
  5. Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra – P4.832
  6. Health Secretary Francisco Duque III – P4.754 million
  7. Agriculture Secretary William Dar – P4.647 million
  8. Higher Education Secretary Prospero de Vera III – P4.571 million
  9. Interior Secretary Eduardo Año – P4.565 million
  10. Trade Secretary Ramon Lopez – P4.51 million
  11. Housing Secretary Eduardo del Rosario – P4.509 million
  12. National Security adviser Hermogenes Esperon Jr. – P4.501 million
  13. Transportation Secretary Arthur Tugade – P4.4639 million
  14. Information and Communications Technology Secretary Gregorio Honasan II – P4.4635 million
  15. Cabinet Secretary Karlo Nograles – P4.427 million
  16. Foreign Affairs Secretary Teodoro Locsin Jr. – P4.408 million
  17. Presidential Legal Counsel Salvador Panelo – P4.397 million
  18. Agrarian Reform Secretary John Castriciones – P4.374 million
  19. Tourism Secretary Bernadette Romulo-Puyat – P4.366 million
  20. Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea – P4.416 million
  21. Communications Secretary Martin Andanar – P4.35 million  
  22. Environment Secretary Roy Cimatu – P4.314 million
  23. Public Works Secretary Mark Villar – P4.29 million
  24. Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process Carlito Galvez – P4.286 million
  25. Social Welfare Secretary Joselito Bautista – P4.277 million
  26. National Anti-Poverty Council Secretary Noel Felongco – P4.248 million
  27. Budget Secretary Wendel Avisado – P4.24 million
  28. Education Secretary Leonor Briones – P4.228 million
  29. Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana – P4.214 million
  30. Technical Education Secretary Isidro Lapeña – P4.186 million
  31. Metropolitan Manila Development Authority chairman Danilo Lim (+) – P4.178 million
  32. Economic Planning Secretary Karl Kendrick Chua – P4.084 million
  33. Presidential spokesperson Herminio Roque – P2.876 million

– Rappler.com