5 more areas under state of calamity


This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

(UPDATED) This brings to 14 the total number of areas under state of calamity

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATED) – Five more areas were put under state of national calamity on Wednesday, August 8. These are Pasig, Pasay, and Pateros in Metro Manila, as well as Olongapo City and the province of Bulacan.

Rescue and rehabilitation efforts are expected resumed Wednesday, but the weather bureau Pagasa forecast rain to continue throughout the day.

The other cites in Metro Manila under a state of calamity are Malabon, Muntinlupa and Valenzuela. The others are in Central Luzon and Calabarzon region.

The declaration of state of calamity would facilitate the use of funds to aid affected families and expedite rehabilitation efforts. – Rappler.com

For more weather updates, visit the #WeatherAlert Microsite.

Everyone is encouraged to help out. Check this list of evacuation centers and relief operations in Metro Manila for places near you. 

If you have photos you’d like to share, send them to us @rapplerdotcom on Twitter, or send them via email to desk@rappler.com.

More in #WeatherAlert:

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!