More seats up for grabs in 10 LGUs

Reynaldo Santos Jr

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

The creation of new districts and cities has opened seats to 5 additional congressmen and 28 councilors

MANILA, Philippines (Updated) – There will be more elective posts this year in 3 provinces and 7 cities due to congressional districts created and municipalities converted before the 2013 polls.

This is due to the creation of 5 new districts and the conversion of 5 municipalities into cities before the May 13 elections.

Based on Commission on Elections (Comelec) Resolution 9526, voters will elect a total of 233 district representatives and 13,530 councilors this year.

That’s an additional 5 congressmen and 28 councilors from 2010.

The following districts were created:

  • 2 in Quezon City, via Republic Act 10170;
  • 1 in Palawan (Puerto Princesa City), via RA 10171;
  • 1 in North Cotabato, via RA 10177;
  • 1 in Bukidnon, via RA 10184.

The creation of new districts in Palawan, North Cotabato, and Bukidnon will not result in additional seats in the provincial board. Each of these provinces will still have 10 board members, apportioned to the new number of districts:

  • Palawan will have 5 board members for the 1st district, 4 for 2nd district, 1 for 3rd district.
  • North Cotabato: 4 for 1st district, 3 for 2nd district, 3 for 3rd district.
  • Bukidnon: 2 for 1st district, 3 for 2nd district, 3 for 3rd district, 2 for 4th district.

The new districts in Quezon City, however, will result in 12 new seats in the city council. There will now be 36 city councilors, with each district voting for 6 candidates. RA 6636 states that districts in Quezon City shall elect 6 councilors each.

Additional councilors will be elected in localities that were converted from municipalities into cities.

The following will each have two additional councilors, or a total of 10:

  • Ilagan in Isabela;
  • Mabalacat in Pampanga;
  • Biñan in Laguna;
  • Cabuyao in Laguna.

Biñan became a city 3 months before the 2010 elections. But ballots were already prepared then, so its voters had to elect the old number of councilors.

Republic Act 6636 states that municipalities shall elect 8 councilors, while cities shall elect 10 councilors.

It also states that in the case of cities with their own congressional districts, 12 councilors will be elected. The cities of Bacoor and Imus, both in Cavite, will then have 4 additional councilors each, or a total of 12 each.

Bacoor has been divided into two districts, via Republic Act 10160, so each district will elect 6 councilors. – Rappler.com

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!