2022 Philippine Elections

LIST: Who is running for president, vice president in the 2022 Philippine elections?

LIST: Who is running for president, vice president in the 2022 Philippine elections?
This list will be updated once the Commission on Elections releases the official list of candidates

The race is on!

From October 1 to 8, 2021, aspirants to the two highest positions in the country trooped to the Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila to file with the Commission on Elections (Comelec) their certificates of candidacy (COC) for the 2022 polls.

(READ: Powers and Duties: President, Vice President of the Philippines)

Below is a list of aspirants for president and vice president, arranged alphabetically.

At the end, you may also see the official presidential-vice presidential tickets.

We will update this with the official list of candidates once the Comelec makes it available.

(READ: #PHVote Guides: When does a politician become a candidate?)

A total of 10 aspirants for president and 9 for vice president are in the running so far, based on Comelec’s latest tentative list of candidates as of January 10, and the substitutions and withdrawals of candidacies that have taken place:

For President

Ernesto Abella
Leodegario “Ka Leody” de Guzman
Partido Lakas ng Masa
Norberto Gonzales
Partido Demokratiko Sosyalista ng Pilipinas
Panfilo “Ping” Lacson
Partido para sa Demokratikong Reporma
Faisal Mangondato
Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi
Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr.
Partido Federal ng Pilipinas
Jose Montemayor Jr.
Democratic Party of the Philippines

Withdrawals with no substitution:
Orlando de Guzman (Partido Pederal ng Maharlika)
Christopher Lawrence “Bong” Go (PDDS), who had earlier substituted for Grepor Belgica
Ronald dela Rosa (PDP-Laban)
Anna Capella Velasco (Lakas-CMD)

83 COC filers for president were later removed from the list.

Photos of six aspirants from Comelec’s Twitter account

For Vice President

Walden Bello
Partido Lakas ng Masa
Substituted for Raquel Castillo
Rizalito David
Democratic Party of the Philippines
Sara Duterte
Substituted for Lyle Fernando Uy
Emmanuel “Manny” Lopez
Workers and Peasants Party (Labor Party Philippines)
Willie Ong
Aksyon Demokratiko
Carlos Serapio
Katipunan ng Kamalayang Kayumanggi
Vicente “Tito” Sotto III
Nationalist People’s Coalition

Withdrawals with no substitution:
Christopher Lawrence Go (PDP-Laban) to run for president
Bienvenido Lorque (Katipunan ng Demokratikong Pilipino)

Photo of one aspirant from Comelec’s Twitter account

Comelec cancelled Arlene Josephine Butay’s candidacy for vice president because she also filed a COC for senator, which makes her not eligible for either position.

17 COC filers for vice president were later removed from the list.

President-VP tickets

De Guzman-Bello