Filipino movies

WINNERS: ASEAN Intl Film Fest and Awards

Kai Magsanoc

This is AI generated summarization, which may have errors. For context, always refer to the full article.

The March 30 awards night marks the culmination of the 3-day ASEAN film industry event

GO, PHILIPPINES! Philippine entries 'Sta Nina,' 'Alagwa,' and 'The Kidnappers of Ronnie Lazaro' received 8 nominations. Photo by Kai Magsanoc

SARAWAK, Malaysia – The first ASEAN International Film Festival and Awards in Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia culminates on March 30, 7pm at Borneo Convention Centre Kuching.

Philippine entries “Sta. Nina,” “Alagwa,” and “The Kidnappers of Ronnie Lazaro” received nominations at the announcement on March 28.

READ: ‘Sta Nina’, ‘Alagwa’ nominated at ASEAN Intl Film Fest and Awards

“Sta. Nina” is nominated in the following categories:

  • Best Film Editing
  • Best Supporting Actress – Anita Linda
  • Best Actress – Alessandra de Rossi
  • Best Picture – Drama
  • Best Director – Emmanuel Quindo Palo

“Alagwa” is nominated in the following categories:

  • Best Supporting Actor – Bugoy Carino
  • Best Actor – Jericho Rosales

“The Kidnappers of Ronnie Lazaro” is nominated for Best Picture – Comedy.

IN PHOTOS: ASEAN Intl Film Fest and Awards opening night

Actors Jericho Rosales (“Alagwa”) and Dominic Roco (“Ang Nawawala”) are among the roster of presenters. Theater actress-singer Ima Castro is one of the performers.

Veteran actor-filmmaker Ricky Davao is part of the 5-man jury panel, headed by U-Wei Haji Saari of Malaysia. Other members are Deborah Gabinetti of Indonesia, Jack Neo Chee Keong of Singapore, and U Aung Lwin of Myanmar.

Here is the list of winners updated as they were announced:

  • BEST SCREENPLAY: “Bunohan” – Malaysia
  • BEST FILM EDITING: “Sang Martir” – Indonesia
  • BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR: Bugoy Carino, “Alagwa” – Philippines
  • BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Anita Linda, “Sta Nina” – Philippines
  • BEST ACTOR: Shaheizy Sam, “Songlap” – Malaysia
  • BEST ACTRESS: Alessandra de Rossi, “Sta Nina” – Philippines
  • BEST PICTURE – COMEDY: “Istanbul Aku Datang” – Malaysia
  • BEST PICTURE – DRAMA: “Sta Nina” – Philippines
  • BEST PICTURE – ACTION: “Songlap” – Malaysia
  • SPECIAL HONOUR AWARD: “Hanyut” – Malaysia
  • SPECIAL JURY AWARD: “Kayan Beauties” –  Myanmar, “Rectoverso” – Indonesia, “Ada Apa Dengan Rina” – Brunei, “Taxi! Taxi!” – Singapore
  • BEST DIRECTOR: Riri Riza, “Atambua 39 Degrees Celsius” – Indonesia
  • INAUGURAL ASEAN SPIRIT AWARD: “Cinta Tapi Beda” – Indonesia

More than 100 films from Malaysia, Brunei, Singapore, Philippines, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Vietnam, Myanmar, Laos, USA, India, Russia, and Australia participated in AIFFA. According to director Livan Tajang, the second one will be held in 2015. 

The Philippines is represented by Rain Yamson, Dominic Roco, Paul Sta Ana, Ian Lorenos, Whammy Alcazaren, Paulo Reyes, Mel Navarro, Pilar Mateo, Kai Magsanoc (Rappler), Jericho RosalesMarinez Elizalde, Kim JonesMark Lapid, Jess Lapid, Daisy Reyes, Ricardo Sanchez, Law Fajardo, Alfred Vargas, Yasmine Espiritu, and Ima Castro. –


Follow @kaimagsanoc on Twitter for updates.

Add a comment

Sort by

There are no comments yet. Add your comment to start the conversation.

Summarize this article with AI

How does this make you feel?

Download the Rappler App!